Community Preservation Panel September 4, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes

The meeting was held at the Aurora Firehouse meeting room at 7:00 pm

Present: Chairperson Jim Burkett, Chris MacCormick, Claire Morehouse, and Julia Rossmann

Absent: Jeff Blum **Others Present**

Village Officials: Clerk Ann Balloni and Historian Dr. Linda Schwab **Aurora Historical Society:** Shirley Egan, Ken Larson, and Rob LoMoscolo

Aurora Masonic Center: Mark Smith and Steve Zabriskie

Call to Order: Mr. Burkett called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Changes to the Agenda: Discussion of the Minerva statue under New Business

Approval of Minutes: On motion by Morehouse, seconded by MacCormick, the CPP voted to approve the July 3, 2024

minutes.

AYES: Burkett, MacCormick, Morehouse, and Rossmann

NAYS: None ABSENT: Blum

Motion carried unanimously.

Announcements: The Aurora Free Library is celebrating its 125th anniversary on Saturday, September 7 from 5-7. All are

welcome.

Old Business: No Old Business was discussed.

New Business

Aurora Historical Society Patrick Tavern DRI Project: President Shirley Egan presented documentation (attached) detailing the Patrick Tavern renovation, submitted as part of the Village of Aurora DRI funding project. Ms. Egan noted that the final decision for the projects awarded has not been decided, but the AHS want CPP involvement throughout the process. Ms. Egan added that an architect will be at Patrick Tavern on September 10 for a community engagement during the farmer's market and invited the CPP to attend.

Application #24-23 from Rich & Stacy Groth for a garage at 39 Cherry Ave (Tax Map #182.13-1-8)

Mr. Burkett noted that the application received the two area variances from the ZBA on August 31, 2024.

The panel agreed that the proposed garage is consistent with the house renovations and had no questions or concerns.

On motion by Morehouse, seconded by Rossmann, the CPP voted to approve Application #24-23 as submitted.

AYES: Burkett, MacCormick, Morehouse, and Rossmann

NAYS: None ABSENT: Blum

Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Burkett issued the applicants a Certificate of Appropriateness.

Application #24-26 from the Aurora Masonic Center for placement of a heat pump at 325 Main St (Tax Map #181.16-1-30)

Mr. Zabriskie noted the placement of the heat pump on the southeast corner of the building, which is obscured from view by trees. Mr. Zabriskie noted that a letter was submitted by David Czekai, the neighbor to the south, acknowledging that the heat pump encroaches on his property, and he has no objections. Mr. Smith added that neither party is interested in securing an easement, though a "covenant" was mentioned.

Mr. MacCormick noted that any change in the location of the pump will require further review from the panel, but Mr. Zabriskie replied that moving the pump is not anticipated.

On motion by MacCormick, seconded by Morehouse, the CPP voted to approve Application #24-26 as submitted.

AYES: Burkett, MacCormick, Morehouse, and Rossmann

NAYS: None ABSENT: Blum

Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Burkett issued the applicants a Certificate of Appropriateness.

Minerva Statue: The CPP discussed the significance of the Minerva Statue, located in the alcove of Main Building on Wells College campus. The statue was damaged when it was moved following Wells closure. The CPP would like the statue repaired and to remain in Aurora, though considered if they have any purview.

The statue itself is not designated a landmark, but the alcove in front of Main Building, itself a historic landmark, was built specifically for the Minerva statue and the CPP does have purview over features related to landmarks. Additionally, the CPP is tasked with ensuring affirmative maintenance of historic district buildings.

On motion by Morehouse, seconded by MacCormick, the CPP voted to draft a letter to the chairperson of the Wells College Board of Trustees, explaining the panel's desire to protect local artifacts associated with Wells College and encourage housing them in Aurora.

AYES: Burkett, MacCormick, Morehouse, and Rossmann

NAYS: None ABSENT: Blum

Motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment: On motion by MacCormick, seconded by Rossmann, the CPP voted to adjourn the meeting at 7:53 p.m.

AYES: Burkett, MacCormick, Morehouse, and Rossmann

NAYS: None ABSENT: Blum

Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann Balloni Village Clerk